The Climate Change Institute (CCI) comprises more than 200 academic staff and postgraduate research students from all seven Colleges of the University, bringing the total complement to almost 300 researchers.


Professor Mark Howden, Director

Clare de Castella, Communications Manager

Dr Bec Colvin, Knowledge Exchange Specialist

Dr. Steven Crimp, Research Fellow

Juliet Meyer, Administrative Officer

Advisory Committee

The CCI Advisory Committee is designed to be a platform for a diverse range of stakeholders from across the University who will aid in setting and steering the strategic direction of the Institute. Key functions include to:

  • Support, recommend and help prioritise climate education provided by ANU at all academic and general levels
  • Foster cross-disciplinary research solutions to the challanges of climate change
  • Build a community of climate scholars from across the University


The committee comprises of CCI core staff and respresentatives from across the University with an interest in climate change:

Mark Howden, Director, Climate Change Institute

Jamie Pittock, Fenner School of Environment and Society 

Frank Jotzo, Crawford School of Public Policy

Sharon Friel, School of Regulation and Global Governance

Nerilie Abram, Research School of Earth Sciences

Hedda Ransan-Cooper, College of Engineering and Computer Science

Aparna Lal, Research School of Population Health 

Roslyn Prinsley, ANU Chancellory  

Will Grant, Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science 

Justin Borevitz, Research School of Biology

Andrew Macintosh, ANU College of Law

Rachel England, HDR student, Fenner School of Environment & Society

Bec Colvin, Climate Change Institute

Clare de Castella, Climate Change Institute

Steven Crimp, Climate Change Institute


Updated:  21 May 2019/Responsible Officer:  Director/Page Contact:  Web Admin